Supporting Local News

O’Flaherty back for a sixth Council term


From this week's Galway City Tribune

From this week's Galway City Tribune

O’Flaherty back for a sixth Council term O’Flaherty back for a sixth Council term

Councillor Terry O’Flaherty has been re-elected on the 12th count in Galway City East.

The Independent who will serve a sixth term on Galway City Council, with Justine Delaney Heaslip’s transfers giving her 1,144 votes – spot on the quota,

She joins Alan Cheevers (FF) and Declan McDonnell (Ind) who were elected earlier this morning.

Labour’s Helen Ogbu inched closer to a seat, taking 188 transfers bringing her to 1,045 – just 99 short of a quota.

In the mix for the final two seats are Cllr MJ Crowe (FF), Shane Forde (FG) Aisling Burke (SF).

Burke is ahead with 895, followed by Forde on 843 and Crowe on 821.

Crowe is in danger of losing his seat but will be hoping transfers from Noel Larkin can save him and push him over the line to hold a second FF seat.

Caption: Cllr Terry O’ Flaherty is congratulated by Cllr Donal Lyons after she was re-elected.

Galway City East 6 seats

Electorate: 18,110

Total poll: 8,102

Spoiled votes: 101

Total valid poll: 8,001

Quota: 1,144


Twelfth count

Distribution of Delaney Heaslip’s votes

*O’Flaherty, Terry (Ind) (+49) 1,144 ELECTED

Ogbu, Helen (Lab) (+188) 1,045

Forde, Shane (FG) (+26) 843

*Crowe, Michael (FF) (+19) 821

Burke, Aisling (SF) (+105) 895

*Larkin, Noel (Ind Irl) (+22) 645 ELIM

Non transferable: 53


More like this:

Sign Up To get Weekly Sports UPDATES

Go Up