Salthill/Knocknacarra face Corofin in big opening round group encounter


From this week's Galway City Tribune

From this week's Galway City Tribune

Salthill/Knocknacarra face Corofin in big opening round group encounter Salthill/Knocknacarra face Corofin in big opening round group encounter


The senior football championship returns this weekend as 17 clubs chase the Frank Fox Cup. Maigh Cuilinn are favourites but face strong competition from 2021 champions Mountbellew/Moylough, 2020 winners Corofin and last year’s runners-up Salthill/Knocknacarra.  The latter two meet on Saturday in the game of the weekend.

Maigh Cuilinn take on An Spidéal, and last year’s intermediate winners Dunmore MacHales face St. Michael’s on Friday. There are double headers in Kenny Park, Pearse Stadium and Tuam Stadium the following day. Tuam Stars have a bye.

This year sees two groups of six teams, and one group of five. The top two advance to the quarter-finals along with the best third placed side from a six-team group. The other third placed teams will play-off. Two teams from each group contest relegation with two clubs dropping to intermediate.



Moycullen vs An Spidéal (Pearse Stadium, 7.30pm)

Providing everyone is available, Don Connellan’s Maigh Cuilinn remain the team to beat.  Former Offaly captain Johnny Moloney is a welcome addition. Their half back line of Michael Maughan, Neil Mulcahy and Eoghan Kelly are rock solid. Seán Kelly went stateside after Galway’s All-Ireland exit but should join Gerard Davoren, Owen Gallagher and Dessie Conneely in attack.

Páid Ó Neachtain is part of a new eight-man An Spideal management. Galway ladies joint manager Maghnus Breathnach is between the sticks while their danger man is Liam Ó Conghaile. Finnian O Laoi and Liam Kelly are out this year but Antaine Ó Laoi returns. They have injury concerns regarding Iarflaith Breathnach and Padraig Eoin Ó Curraoin.The champions won this fixture 0-15 to 0-12 in 2022.

Verdict: Moycullen.


Pictured: Salthill/Knocknacarra’s John Maher on the ball against Maigh Cuilluin’s David Wynne in last year’s Galway Senior Football Final. The 2023 title race kicks off this weekend.

More like this:

Sign Up To get Weekly Sports UPDATES

Go Up