Wallace goes on the rampage in big provincial win over The Bish

Coláiste Mhuire, Ballygar 3-15

St. Joseph’s College  0-6

By Ivan Smyth at Duggan Park

JOEY Wallace plundered 3-8 as the Coláiste Mhuire, Ballygar full forward produced a scintillating display to help his school be crowned Connacht PPS Senior C hurling champions and lift the Barry Burke Cup.

A Coláiste Mhuire, Ballygar side, who were jointly managed by Galway hurler Evan Niland and Johnny Waldron, were simply better in every facet than their overwhelmed foes. The Bish simply failed to catch fire on a damp Wednesday evening in Duggan Park as they struck 10 wides and just six points. The win helped the Ballygar boyscomplete a double after winning the Connacht Junior C hurling final in December.

The city school emerged victorious when these sides met in the group stage back in December but despite drawing level at 0-2 apiece inside the opening five minutes, from there Coláiste Mhuire took over. Wallace was unstoppable on the edge of the square as the inside line of him and the two Harrys, O’Sullivan and Holmes, were being given an abundance of fast, direct ball as the winners dominated the middle third exchanges.

Cathal Maloney excelled in midfield while Rory Coyle hurled an amount of ball especially in the first half. Gerard Healy was a calming presence at wing back and later when he moved to the edge of his own square. The Bish missed seven placed balls over the hour and saw three goal chances go abegging but, in truth, the Coláiste Mhuire defenders all won their individual battles.

Perhaps, a lack of match sharpness could have impacted the Bish as their last game in this competition came back in December while Coláiste Mhuire lined out in a semi final less than three weeks before this encounter.

Pictured: Colaiste Mhuire, Ballygar, Connacht PPS Senior C hurling champions after defeating St Joseph’s College (the Bish) in the final at Duggan Park last Wednesday. Back row, left to right: Adam Beckett, Matthew Cunningham, Luke Finnerty, Adam Naughton, Michael Naughton, Alan Kilcommins, Matthew Beirne, Luke Fallon, Cathal Bury, Eoghan Naughton, Cian Downey, Harry Holmes, Cathal Maloney, Gerard Healy, Connor Kelly. Front row: Seán Scott, Michael Dunning, Alex Kelly, Evan Doyle, Ethan Kelly, Óisín Finneran, Jamie Kelly, Joey Wallace, Rory Coyle, David Mannion, Harry O’Sullivan, Gavin Meares.

For more, read this week’s Connacht Tribune:

Connacht Tribune Digital Edition App

Download the Connacht Tribune Digital Edition App to access to Galway’s best-selling newspaper. Click HERE to download it for iPhone and iPad from Apple’s App Store, or HERE to get the Android Version from Google Play.

Or purchase the Digital Edition for PC, Mac or Laptop from Pagesuite HERE.

Get the Connacht Tribune Live app

The Connacht Tribune Live app is the home of everything that is happening in Galway City and county. It’s completely FREE and features all the latest news, sport and information on what’s on in your area. Click HERE to download it for iPhone and iPad from Apple’s App Store, or HERE to get the Android Version from Google Play.

More like this:

Sign Up To get Weekly Sports UPDATES

Go Up