UHG to become specialist centre in new hospital grouping

Date Published: 14-May-2013

The Cabinet will sign off this morning on the re-organisation of the country’s hospitals into six regional groupings.

The Irish Independent reports that University Hospital Galway will act as specialist centre in a new grouping involving a total of seven hospitals.

Under the existing arrangement, the Galway Roscommon Hospital group includes UHG, Merlin Park, Portiuncula in Ballinasloe and Roscommon Hospitals.

The new grouping will see the inclusion of Sligo General Hospital and Letterkenny Hospital.