Two women take posts of County Mayor and Deputy Mayor

Galway Bay fm newsroom – Tuam Area Councillor Mary Hoade has been elected as the new Mayor of County Galway.
The Fianna Fail Councillor was given the Cathaoirleach chain at the annual general meeting of the council which is being held in Bailey Allen Hall at NUI Galway this afternoon.
Cllr Hoade was nominated for the position of Mayor, now known as Cathaoirleach, by Fianna Fail Cllr Michael Connolly.
Her nomination was seconded by newcomer Donagh Kilalea.
Independent newcomer Karey McHugh from Tuam was nominated by Sinn Fein Cllr Dermot Connolly and seconded by Independent Cllr Shaun Cunniffe but failed to secure enough votes.
The pact involved 12 Fine Gael members and 12 Fianna Fail members.
Newcomer for Fine Gael Niamh Byrne has been elected as Deputy Mayor.
She was nominated by Cllr Jimmy McClearn and seconded by Cllr Tom McHugh.
Newcomer James Charity was also nominated by Cllr Jim Cuddy but failed to secure sufficient votes.