Third Count Ballinasloe LEA: Connolly’s surplus distributed

Ballinasloe Number of seats: 6 Electorate: 23,513 Total poll: 13,462 Spoiled votes: 211 Total valid poll: 13,251 Quota: 1,894   First count Timmy Broderick (Ind) 2,362 Michael Connolly (FF) 2,168 Peter Keaveney (FG) 1,632 Declan Geraghty (Ind) 1,541 Dermot Connolly (SF) 1,387 Aisling Dolan (Ind) 1,082 Aidan Donohue (FG)...

Tenth Count Athenry Oranmore LEA: Former Mayor makes stunning comeback

The seven seats in the Athenry Oranmore area have been filled. Former County Mayor Liam Carroll from Oranmore makes a dramatic return to Galway County Council having lost his seat back in 2014 He along with...

Fourth Count Loughrea LEA: Hynes edges closer to finish line

Loughrea Number of seats: 5 Electorate: 18,729 Total poll: 10,503 Spoiled votes: 165 Total valid poll: 10,338 Quota: 1,724   First count: Michael ‘Moegie’ Maher (FG) 2,152 Jimmy McClearn (FG) 2,045 Shane Curley (FF) 1,581 Ivan Canning (FF) 1,564 Pat Hynes (Ind) 948 Pat Flanagan (FF) 738 Joe Campbell...

Ninth Count Athenry Oranmore LEA: Cronnelly retains his seat

Following the ninth count in the Athenry Oranmore electoral area, outgoing councillor Gabe Cronnelly has been returned – filling the fourth seat of seven in this electoral area. Cronnelly joined James Charity (Ind), Albert Dolan...

Second Court Ballinasloe LEA: Connolly and Donohue make progress

The distribution of Timmy Broderick’s surplus in the Ballinasloe has been completed with Dermot Connolly (SF) and Aidan Donohue (FG) being the main beneficiaries. So far Broderick and Michael Connolly (FF) have been elected on...

Eighth Count Athenry-Oranmore LEA: Picture grows clearer with four seats still up for grabs

By Declan Tierney The eighth count in the Athenry Oranmore area has been completed – and it has edged Gabe Cronnolly ever closer towards the quota. This count saw the elimination of Fine Gael’s Helen Jennings...


few clouds
10.7 ° C
11.1 °
10 °
12 °
12 °
14 °
15 °
16 °