3rd Count Connemara South: Mac an Iomaire elected

Connemara South Electorate 18,232 Total Poll 9,164 Spoiled votes 203 Valid Poll 8,961 Quota 1,494 First Count Padraig Mac an Iomaire (FG) 1,408 Noel Thomas (FF) 1,211 Dáithí O Cualáin (FF) 1,166 Alastair McKinstry (GP) 985 Tomás Ó Curraoin (Ind) 971 Ann Flaherty (FG) 872 MacDara...

6th Count City Central: Ó Corcoráin eliminated

Galway City Central: Electorate: 16,241 Total Poll: 8,146 Spoiled Votes: 144 Total Valid poll: 8,002 Quota: 1,144 First Count: Byrne, Imelda FF 490 Connolly, Colette Ind 493 Corcoráin, Cormac Ó Aontú 429 Crowe, Ollie FF 1,008 Cubbard, Mike Ind 1,292 ELECTED Fahy, Frank FG 694 Feeney, Patrick...

FINAL TALLY: McDonnell set to top poll in City East

With all boxes tallied in Galway City East, sitting Independent councillor Declan McDonnell looks set to top the poll with almost 15% of first preferences. Fianna Fáil’s Alan Cheevers is on course to take the...

Galway City: Counting to resume at 10am

Counting of votes in the local elections for Galway City Council resumes this Sunday morning at 10am. Just two city councillors out of a total of 18 have been elected so far – Declan McDonnell...

Fourth Count Ballinasloe LEA: Dolan the surprise package

  After four counts in the Ballinasloe area, the prospects look even more favourable for independent candidate Aisling Dolan snatching a surprise seat. Following the elimination of another Ballinasloe independent candidate, Harriet Bruce, Dolan has established...

Eighth count Ballinasloe LEA: Three new faces as count reaches conclusion

Independent environment candidate Aisling Dolan picked up one of the last three seats in the Ballinasloe LEA as the count reached its conclusion. That came after Glenamaddy’s Peter Keaveney was elected having exceeded the quota...


few clouds
15.5 ° C
17 °
14.4 °
13 °
12 °
13 °
16 °
17 °