Record-breakers Corofin fend off Mayo rivals in extra time

Corofin’s Colin Brady finishes the ball to the net as Castlebar Mitchels goalkeeper Rory Byrne can only look on during the first half of Sunday's Connacht Senior Club Football Final at Tuam Stadium.




A PALL of mid-winter cloud hung over the old stadium in Tuam on Sunday but as darkness began to fall in the closing stages of this Connacht club senior final, the brightest of silver linings emerged for a Corofin side picking up their eighth provincial crown since 1991 after an eventful showdown against Castlebar Mitchels.

There was many’s the slip between cup and lip for Corofin, but eventually after over 80 minutes of hard toil, they again drank from the rich well of success that has now made them into the most successful parish side in the history of Connacht club football.

Apart from the concession of an early goal in the third minute, Corofin on balance, looked a stronger and more threatening outfit than the Mayo champions, but they came perilously close to paying a high price for not putting the opposition away during second half periods of dominance.

Corofin though don’t do panic. After being caught on the line at the end of normal time when David Stenson pointed a close range free into the town goal, the momentum seemed to be with the Mayo champions, but Corofin settled the ship and went on to control the extra-time period.

Twice during the third quarter, Corofin went four ahead and by the 47th minute they had edged into a five-point lead at 2-7 to 1-5 but the final five scores in normal time went to Castlebar – and it could have been worse for the Galway champions.

Castlebar kicked some atrocious wides, including two wild efforts from centre forward Danny Kirby, but before that, Corofin should have had the Mayo champions put away as Jason Leonard, Martin Farragher, Colin Brady and Michael Lundy all missed from good positions.


Full coverage in this week’s Connacht Tribune.