Galway swimmers claim 32 medals at Irish NS finals

Galway Swimming Club swimmers scooped 32 medals at the Irish National School Finals, which was held in Leisureland last weekend and saw 380 children from 60 schools competing in an event that attracts the fastest schools swimmers that qualify from the four Irish provinces.

Galway SC success at the competition included Fionn Duffy (Maree NS) winning gold in the U-12 Boys Individual Medley and silver in the 50 metre Butterfly; Joseph Doorly (Furbo NS)) won gold in the U-12 Boys Freestyle; while Max Kolcow (St Patrick’s NS) won bronze in the U-12 Boys 100 Individual Medley.

In the U-12 Girls category, Lauren Walsh (Scoil Iognáid) won silver in the Individual Medley and bronze in the 50metres Breaststroke. In the U-9 Boys category, Tom O’Sullivan (Scoil Fhursa) won silver in the 50 metres Butterfly, and bronze in the 50 metre Freestyle.
In the relay events, gold medals were won by Emma Kennelly and Alison Gibbs in both the U-10 Girls’ Freestyle and Medley events representing Scoil Rois, Taylor’s Hill; while the girls from Scoil Iognáid – Ruby Murphy, Anna Coyne, Sophie Moran, Anna O’Donoghue and Lauren Walsh – claimed silver and bronze in the U-12 Freestyle and Individual Medley relay events.

Galway SC swimmers representing St Pats, Max Kalcow, Owen Moore, Tom Scully, Cillian Jordan and John Morrison swam superbly to achieve bronze medals in the U-12 Boys Freestyle and IM relays. Scoil Iognáid U-10 Boys also achieved bronze in their Medley relay consisting of Aaron Burke, Charlie Power, James Harrison and Eidhne Kennedy.

Other finalists from Galway Swimming Club competing at the National School Championships were Ailbhe Mulhall, Lauren McKnight, Keela Mulhall, David Doorly, Roisin Finn, Darragh Hanrahan, Zak Rather, Isabelle Gibbs, Madeline Mitchell, Jennifer Holland and Alannah Blacoe.

All the children train on a regular basis at Galway SC and everyone at the club would like to take this opportunity in congratulating all the swimmers on the fantastic achievements and endeavours at this year’s national schools’ competition.