Champs Corofin drawn against Mountbellew/Moylough

 COUNTY senior football champions Corofin will make the first defence of their title against Mountbellew/Moylough in the opening round of the 2014 championship while last year’s beaten finalists, Salthill/Knocknacarra have drawn An Cheathrú Rua.

Following the draw in the Radio Na Gaeltachta studios last week, kingpins of Galway football Corofin will renew their rivalry against the team they defeated in the 2009 county final.

While Salthill/Knocknacarra plan for a date with their teak-tough Connemara opponents, their city rivals, St. Michael’s and St. James’ have equally as tricky assignments in the opening round against Kilkerrin/Clonberne and Cortoon Shamrocks respectively.

Barna, who survived the 2013 relegation battle, will hope to spring a surprise on a Killererin side in transition while 2013 County League champions Milltown will face last year’s intermediate winners Menlough.

Tuam Stars will meet 2012 IFC winners Carna Caiseal, who produced one of the shocks of last year’s campaign when defeating then reigning county senior holders Salthill/Knocknacarra in the first round, while an interesting pairing is that of Kilconly v Caltra.

The remaining senior first round clashes comprise of Micheál Breathnach v Caherlistrane and Annaghdown v Leitir Mór.