Minister to consider Galway submissions on changes to electoral boundaries

Galway Bay fm newsroom – Minister Simon Coveney is to consider 230 submissons on changes to electoral boundaries affecting the county, and other regions across Ireland.
Some ministers and TDs say their areas have been left disenfranchised by previous changes to Dáil electoral areas – while other representatives want constituency revisions reversed.
Recently, OPW Minister and Galway East TD Sean Canney said changes to the Galway East constituency have negatively impacted residents along the constituency border.
In the Galway East area, the villages/towns of Dunmore, Kilkerrin, Clonberne and Mountbellew are now split into different constituencies following revisions to constituency boundaries for the 2016 general election.
Galway East now has 3 TDs instead of 4 – as much of the former constituency now belongs to the Roscommon-Galway constituency.
Clonfert, Eyrecourt, Kiltormer and Garrafrauns are also split between two constituencies, and Minister Canney says this does does nothing to enhance social and cultural cohesion and political representation for these areas.
According to the Irish Examiner, almost 230 submissions were made to the independent boundary commission by yesterday’s deadline.
The commission will give a report to the Dáil in June, after new population census figures are available